Meringue Fantasy

 

I’m extremely excited to announce that I’ve successfully made vegan meringue!! It’s beautiful and delicious too! I swear the cookies taste EXACTLY like the real thing. I began my mission expecting to completely screw up on try #1 as what usually happens. These are so tasty. I also tried to make a meringue pie (banana meringue pie) but it wasn’t as successful. My filling was underbaked so the moisture deflated the meringue as soon as I took it out of the oven. Not a big deal though, it happened when I used to make real meringue pie as well. And without further adieu, the recipe:

  • 1/2 Cup Ener-g Egg
  • 3/4 cup ice cold water
  • 2 1/2 t vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup + 2T white sugar
  • 1 t agar powder + 1/3 cup water

Sprinkle the agar powder over the water in a small saucepan and let sit 5 minutes. In the meantime, prepare the ener-g egg with the ice cold water, beating on the highest setting with a hand mixer for about 8-10 minutes. NOTE: THE ENER-G EGG EXPANDS A LOT- USE A DEEP BOWL. Halfway through, turn on the flame under the sauce pan to medium low heat and let simmer, whisking occasionally. Continue mixing the ener-g egg until stiff peaks form. Add the vanilla and sugar and mix for another 2 minutes. When the agar mixture is completely dissolved, add it to the beaten ener-g and blend for yet another 2 minutes. Transfer to the refrigerator for about half an hour to allow the agar to firm up. Preheat the oven to 350. You are now free to make whatever your heart desires with this vegan meringue. For crisp meringue cookies, bake for 30 minutes. Adjust accordingly depending on your recipe. Again, for pies make sure the filling is thoroughly baked. Any excess moisture will destroy the meringue. My next mission is angel food cake. I’ve heard that Bryanna Clark Grogan has already made a successful one, which se refuses to share with the general public. For now, at least. I’ll conquer this one on my own.

 IMPORTANT: I forgot to add this earlier, the meringue will crisp up as it cools. It has the same properties of normal meringue, so try not to succomb to the temptation of eating your first deliciously vegan meringue the second it pops out of the oven.

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “Meringue Fantasy

  1. susan

    woot, woot! how did you know I wanted to make a vegan lemon meringue pie? well, off to the kitchen for me.

  2. Noor

    I have no idea how to thank you. I have been searching high and low online for vegan meringue. Everyone who has figured it out seems to want to sell it, nobody likes to share for free nowadays.Anywho thank you so much. I came up with a recipe myself, but it’s not exactly meringue and unfortunately it uses xanthan gum(couldn;t find guar.) It had a weird slimy mouth-feel so I gave up, but you have inspired me to keep trying till I get it. THANK YOU!

  3. Noor

    Oh yeah, and once I get it, hopefully soon, I WILL post it online for free. I don’t see the point of holding a good thing secret. After all we aren;t being Vegan for money right! If you’d like to test it, e-mail me. Do bear in mind it’s still an early experiment.

  4. Amir

    Thank you greatly! Very fine recipe!
    Modified the recipe to make meringue for one traditional recipe I’ve been improving and veganising few years now…
    I used stuff called “no-egg”, and it worked out fine.

    take a look: http://yellowbitch.deviantart.com/art/Veg-Japonais-Meringue-94189299

  5. leen

    wow, that looks great!
    how long do you have to bake it for a pie?

  6. Joseph Bennett

    have you played w/ agar powder very much. I was wondering if you might know a ratio of gelatin:agar agar would create similar results.

  7. Pingback: VG-Zone.net » Meringues Vegan

  8. silvana

    Im from Uruguay, here we dont have Ener-g Egg, what could I do?
    thanks for you answer
    🙂

  9. John

    This is truley a miracle! I used to make killer meringue cookies, and thought I had to give that up. A tip for those of us who used to (and still can!) enjoy perfect meringue cookies: set oven to 150 degrees, and bake cookies for 8 hours.

  10. John

    Oh, and I believe that a 50/50 mixture of tapioca powder and potato flour (or starch) can work as a sub for the ener g egg replacer. But I have only used that in baking cakes, not meringues. Good luck!

  11. AAAH!!! If you come up with angel food cake, PLEASE share.

  12. amy

    I made these the other day, and they were horrible! Is it really only 1/2 c + 2 T sugar? I used white sugar, but wondered if powdered sugar would have worked better. My meringues looked beautiful, but they were bitter. I might try the tapioca/potato starch recipe that someone mentioned, because I think the bitterness was due to the leavening agents in the EnerG.

  13. John

    From personal experience, the powdered sugar works great with these. As with all meringues. However, I think they get their un-appealing taste from the combo of the agar agar and the Ener-G. They don’t mix too well in other recipes i’ve tried. And perhaps a bit more sugar would help.

  14. amy

    Just tried using 50/50 mix of potato flour and tapioca starch for the EnerG, with disastrous results. The mixture got thick and gummy, not airy at all. Maybe I can experiment with other thickening agents. On the plus side, the taste was very mild, no bitter aftertaste, and I think that with sugar and flavoring it would have been palatable.

  15. amy

    Here is another recipe for meringue that worked for me.
    http://chocochichi.com/
    I’m interested in trying it on a lemon meringue pie.

  16. Pingback: Bakexperimentjes « Sakura blogt

  17. I would like to say that this article actually convinced me to do so.

  18. у вашего сайта красивый дизайн, сами рисовали?

    родословная цепь

  19. This sounds brilliant, I’m definitely going to try it!

  20. Patrick Balsamo

    These are in the oven right now. I haven’t been this excited about trying a new recipe in a long time (and I work in a professional vegan bakery!). So far, everything is going awesome. I’m blown away by how such a small amount of ingredients expanded into a gigantic blob that looks shockingly like real egg whites. When I piped them out, I filled three sheet pans. And what’s more, I did the math, and it looks like the cookies are about 19 calories each if you make three dozen cookies. WHAT?! New diet food? :-*

  21. Pingback: Vegan Egg Mayo Sandwich | justbloggs

  22. How much meringue does this recipe make? I can’t wait to try it!

  23. fdirft tillkchph xfbowdk xiddmjy kijvothyttp nohpeykr xlemsnyt vnyjqi cmsbmxcina

  24. What’s up, just wanted to say, I loved this blog post. It was funny.
    Keep on posting!

Leave a comment