Poptarts? For breakfast?!

This morning I accidently created a quick, healthy vegan poptart, while attempting to make a single muffin. I wish I’d taken a picture, but I was just so excited to taste it. Well, here’s the recipe anyways: (this is to make ONE. )

Wet:

  • 2 tsp applesauce
  • 1/3 medium banana
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla
  • 4 tsp almond milk

Dry:

  • 4 tsp whole wheat pastry flour (can be substituted with any flour)
  • 2 1/2 tsp oat or wheat bran
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp date sugar (optional)

 

  • 1 strawberry sliced thin

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325. Grease a mini cake pan (because I was making a single muffin, the pan I used was about 3 1/2-4 inches across, and 1 1/2 inches high). Mash together banana with remaining wet ingredients. Combine dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Add dry to wet and mix just until combined. Spoon a tablespoon of the batter into the pan and spread to cover the bottom. Spread the strawberry slices in an even layer on top of the batter. Cover with remaining batter, and drizzle top with agave. Bake for 40-50 minutes. Remove the poptart from the pan (it should look like a thick pancake), and enjoy!

Note: The date sugar is optional because I did not use it in my own recipe. The original recipe did not call for sugar, but my “poptart” turned out definitely not sweet enough. Adjust the sweetness according to personal preference. I’d suggest adding some agave nectar to the wet ingredients. Also, the original recipe called for hempseeds, which I think would be a great addition if you’re in the mood (it called for chocolate chips too, but I was trying to keep it healthy).

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

