Vegan Blintz Souffle: Attempt #1

blintz

In case you haven’t noticed, I have a slight obsession with veganizing very non-vegan recipes. This morning I woke up, inspired to recreate my mom’s blintz souffle. It’s not like the common blintz souffle recipe, with two layers- first the batter then the filling. It’s basically both layers combined, and baked for 45 minutes. This attempt had its ups and downs (though mostly downs). The ups: it tasted good and had a crispy crust. The downs: It didn’t rise, there was too much oil, it was heavy, and my sister (no one else though) thought it tasted like baked oatmeal. I started out my recreation by making cottage cheese adapted from The Uncheese Cookbook. I drained a half pound of silken tofu overnight, then mashed it with 2 tablespoons of mayonnaise, 1 teaspoon of agave, a pinch of salt, a squeeze of lemon, and a dash of garlic powder and dill weed.  The cottage cheese on its own tasted awesome! My next challenge was to replace the eggs in the recipe. In order for it to bind, I made a flax egg (1 tablespoon of ground golden flaxseed + 3 tablespoons of warm water). To bulk it up a bit, I mixed in tablespoon of soyogurt, and then a quarter teaspoon of baking soda to help it rise. Then I started following the recipe. To the cottage cheese, I combined 2 tablespoons earth balance buttery sticks, 2 tablespoons of sugar, and 3 tablespoons vegan cream cheese. Next I added 1/4 cup of spelt flour, another squeeze of lemon juice, and a 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder. I had cut the recipe in half, so I poured the batter into a greased 6×6 baking dish and baked at 350 for 45 minutes.

It occured to me after I made it, that I had forgotten to add a thickener to the tofu- either agar agr or cornstarch. I think that’s why it didn’t rise. Also, I could have omitted the butter called for in the recipe because the cottage cheese already had mayonnaise. Actually, I think I’d rather omit the mayonnaise in the cottage cheese and add the butter. I think then I would just need to add some extra lemon. When I took the “souffle” out of the oven, it was bubbling on top and kept bubbling for a couple minutes. Way too much oil. It pretty much fried the top. Not that it tasted bad (even the healthiest people like fried foods once in a blue moon). More flour too next time to soak up the oil. Verdict: it tasted like passover.

Original non-vegan blintz recipe here (traditionally, it’s a phenomenal recipe)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Vegan Blintz Souffle: Attempt #1

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to understand so significantly about this, like you wrote the book in it or some thing. I believe that you simply can do having a few pics to drive the message home just a little bit, but apart from that, this is fantastic weblog. A fantastic read. I’ll surely be back.

  2. I think this is a real great article post.Really thank you!

  3. Flower delivery Dallas

    i am impressed by you site, will surely put up like yours soon

  4. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you actually recognise what you are talking approximately!
    Bookmarked. Kindly also consult with my website =). We could have a hyperlink alternate agreement between us

Leave a Reply

